History of the Mille Miglia

After the Italian Grand Prix was moved from the Italian city of Brescia to a circuit in Monza in 1922, many of the people of Brescia were left feeling insulted. In 1927, as a response to their hometown’s loss, Aymo Maggi and Franco Mazzotti established what became known as the Mille Miglia.

The race, which grew to be wildly popular, ran from Brescia to Rome and back — a course spanning 1600 kilometers! — and featured some of the most unique sports cars ever produced, including the BMW, Ferrari and Porsche. The event took place 24 times until it was banned in 1957.


Register for Road RallyRegister for Car ShowBecome a Sponsor